Biodiversity conservation and sustainable use of our natural resources is one of the broad objectives of the Department of Water, Environment and Natural Resources of the County Government of Marsabit. The County has three(3) mist mountain dryland water towers surrounded by desert and semi desert rangelands. The three water towers include Mt. Marsabit, Mt. Kulal and Hurri Hills. The three water towers are at different stages of decline. These water towers  are considered as the lifeline of all the people and livestock living on and around it. The County Government of Marsabit is putting in place concerted efforts to conserve its forest resources through multi-institutional, multi-disciplinary Community Based Natural Resources Conservation approaches using both indigenous knowledge and scientific approaches.

With the onset of rains, the department of Environment and Natural Resource is undertaking intensive tree planting exercise across the county. It is expected that about 10,000 indigenous and exotic tree species would be planted at various institutions and strategic sites by the end of this rainy season. The Department has already procured and distributed seedlings to schools and community groups in an ambitious program of afforestation and rehabilitation of rangelands.


On 8th November 2014, the Department launched a tree planting exercise in Moyale Sub-County. The launch was  attended by Butiye Mixed  Secondary School, Manyatta Mixed Secondary School, Kenya Police Service, Kenya Prison Service, sub county and ward Administrators, Assistant Sub County commissioner, and members of the public.

The tree planting was flagged off by the Chief Officer Environment and Natural Resources Mr. Abdullahi S Ismail. During the exercise,2000 tree seedlings were planted at Moyale Police Station. The management of the seedlings would be undertaken by the beneficiary institution.

In his speech,  the Chief Officer mentioned the initiatives the County Government has put in place for its contributions towards ecosystem conservation and management for Financial Year 2014/15. They include:

  1. Establishment of 5 more community wildlife and other ecosystem conservancies for Moyale at Golbo, Ambalo,Dambala Fachana, Funan Nyata , Yabalo ,Dabele, Nana and Kinisa.
  2. Facilitate and support the existing conservancies like Shura, Jaldesa and Songa conservancies.
  3. County Natural Resource mapping and inventories.
  4. Development of county Environment and Natural Resource Management Policy and Bills.
  5. Green School Programme through schools’ Environmental Clubs.
  6. Increase forest and tree covers across the county.
  7. Developing and implementation of county green economy strategy.
  8. Up-scaling of Moyale Boys Secondary School Tree Nursery Nursery site to supply seedlings to neighboring schools and community groups

The pictures above were taken during the recent tree planting exercise in Moyale Sub-County.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Post comment